Help - Make a tile loop after a random time in one room

Hi everyone,
I'm trying to make a loop on a shooting star animation in one room, using a delay with "wait" function.
As I'm not a programmer I tried many thing and eventually got something almost working :slight_smile:

on enter do
	starLoop = 1
	starTime = random 1,5
	call "starAct"

end

on exit do
	starLoop = 0
	end

on starAct do

if starLoop==1 then
				wait starTime then
			tell 22,3 to
				swap "starAnim1"
				wait 0.3 then
					swap "black"
				end
			end
			tell 21,3 to
				swap "starAnim2"
				wait 0.3 then
					swap "black"
				end
			end
			tell 21,4 to
				swap "starAnim3"
				wait 0.3 then
					swap "black"
				end
end
		wait 5 then
call "starAct"
end
end
end
end

On next room I use this code too, to make sure the star will not appear again :

on enter do
	starLoop = 0
end

But it happen that the star still apprear and make a mess in my tiles in 2nd room...
I think that's happen when the player enter next room as the function "starAct" is still on process, but I have no idea how to stop it :dotted_line_face:

I’d first solve the problem of recursion. Recursion means calling a function in the function itself. On modern computers this can make sense, but on Playdate with its limited processing power it should often be avoided. I’d suggest you use the loop event instead:

on loop do
  if starLoop == 1 then
    timer++
    if timer == starTime then
      tell event.room to  //edit: changed to event.room
        call "starAct"
        timer = 0
      end
    end
  end
end

With this you can avoid recursion. starAct will be called when starLoop==1 and a certain amount of frames have elapsed, counted by timer. starTime can be determined somewhere else, like in the enter event, like you did. If you use the star in multiple room I’d suggest using emit „starAct“ instead of call „StarAct“.