Playdate SDK project management tool

Hello all, I'm super excited to be here! I've been playing with the SDK while I wait for my Playdate to arrive, and in doing so I noticed that the ecosystem seemed to be lacking a good project management tool.

Right now, as a developer I can rely on a few VSCode templates and tasks to help make development easier, but I really enjoy my neovim setup for lua development, so that's a little less than ideal. I really would love a tool along the lines of npm or cargo that helps me create new projects, build the pdx files, and run the project in the emulator, all from one command + subcommands.

So I went ahead and wrote that tool. I'm calling it toybox for now. Currently, it is somewhat rudimentary, and it does literally only the above mentioned tasks, provided that the SDK is already installed and available in your PATH:

• toybox init - initializes a playdate project in the current folder by creating a pdxinfo if one doesn't already exist
  • toybox new - scaffolds a new project with a pdxinfo, a source folder with a main.lua that prints hello world on the screen
  • toybox build - reads the pdxinfo and calls pdc to compile the code in source, and outputs the pdx file to the target folder
  • toybox run - will build the pdx file by calling build first, then open the pdx file in the emulator.

All of the functionality above is already available by other means, but not in a single tool as far as I could see.

My question for the community is: Is there interest in such a tool? I would love to share it, and collaborate on making it better for everyone.

5 Likes

I think that's a great idea. What is your tool written in?

Reason I'm asking is because toybox is the name of the package manager that Jeremy MacAnally put together in Go and that I ported to Python.

Maybe there is some synergy there?

1 Like

Oh wow!!! I had no idea! Mine is written in rust, but it is way less developed than this!