Advice, articles, literature, examples to help make a Pulp game?

Despite being a game hobbyist, I've never "completed" a game. I'd like the satisfaction of making a small game that I can complete in Pulp without much in the way of PulpScript. However, I'm such a ridiculous dilletante; I tend make problems for myself:

• I don't think top down (project-wise) or plan that much.
  • I don't know what's really involved in making a small game as a solo project
  • I don't love project managing myself for hobby projects, but games do require a bit of ordered thinking rather than Jackson Pollocking paint everywhere
  • I tend to get distracted with unique game mechanics rather than narrative. Those mechanics will require me duking it out with PulpScript which invariably arrests any momentum I've made. I'm not ruling out scripting altogether, but I'd like it to be super easy—the crank lowering a drawbridge tile, for example.

Is there a basic game design book or article or does anyone have advice on how I go from start to finish? I'm open to reading, the briefer the better—if I read about game design deeply, I worry about scope creep.

How I scope a game? How can I stay true to that scope while conceptualizing and developing game content? How can I plan the work and deliver "the thing"?

Are there guidelines for room-based, light-dialog-centric games, especially when it comes to fun? I tend to not play those types of games, but are there ones I should try out to get a feel?

Even a halfway playable game would give me a sense I'm not treading water.

Thanks in advance for anything useful!

1 Like

Not sure if this is what you are looking for, but here is some technical documentation on Pulp.

You could probably make a game where you collect keys and open doors to progress without using much Pulpscript.

Thanks, I'm more looking for general help on making small games and less about technical guidance.