Brian's Playdate DevLog

Hi everyone! Some of you may have seen me hanging out on the Discord server, but this is my first time posting in the forum. I'm Director of Engineering at a software shop here in Toronto, Canada and I've been excitedly playing around with game ideas since I joined the developer preview.

I've very much enjoyed following everyone's progress on their games & prototypes, so I thought it was time to start sharing some of what I've been working on. Both games are very much WIP, but I've been enjoying the experience so far.

First up is Blackjack.

Blackjack

The basics for an 8-deck table are in there. I still need to figure out UI/animations and handling cases like splitting, doubling down, etc. But as a self-proclaimed Blackjack enthusiast, I've been enjoying practicing my basic strategy with what I have so far. Huge thanks to Neven for sharing the excellent card image table!

Second game is a classic: Sokoban. I've been using Kenney's 1-bit pack for this one, so far. I'm questioning the size of the sprites on-device. It all might be a bit small. But it's pretty legible and leaves lots of room for different level designs.

Sokoban

I'll try to keep sharing updates as I go, as well as some builds in the near future.

LATEST BUILDS
Sokoban: sokoban.pdx.zip (112.7 KB) (December 27, 2020)

5 Likes

Really nice couple of games!

Looking forward to seeing these and others progress.

1 Like

Thanks Matt! Your own updates inspired me to start sharing. It's great to see the community popping up around the Playdate.

Sokoban has been my main focus for the last week, or so.

(I really need to come up with my own name and take on why the player is shoving these orbs around)