Exploring Playdate Pulp - Boxing Game and other prototypes

Hello everyone, I hope you are well. I'm new here, discovered Playdate about a week ago and here I am, I've fallen down the rabbit hole. :sweat_smile:

I'm a designer/illustrator and I develop websites in Webflow, I'm not a programmer but I have good knowledge of Javascript. In my free time I like to illustrate some ideas for games and Pulp was a great fit for exploring some creative concepts.

I'm currently working on some prototypes with the aim of innovating games made in Pulp. One of them is an pulp Boxing Game :boxing_glove:

boxe

The player tile is where the head tile is, with two side tiles being the left and right arms.

The player is defenseless for a set amount of time, this will be shown subtly in the animation in a frame with the torso and head more advanced. If an opponent spends many frames without defense he is considered weak, if he spends a few frames without defense he is better or stronger. This way I intend to work on the difficulty.

If a punch is applied at the moment when the tile of one of the arms is aligned with the opponent's center and the opponent is undefended, a point is calculated and the blow is shown in conjunction with the animation of the large glove. If you hit the defense, the animation is smaller, as if it were a jab.

My plan is to continue exploring Pulp for a while and try to launch a game before venturing into developing on Lua. :raised_hands:

1 Like

Maybe a platformer, still evolving in terms of appearance...

plataformer

5 Likes

Evolving with the prototype, I am working and refining some points:

• Player movement and frame animation
  • Adding left and right arms + frame animation
  • Showing the BIG GLOVE when buttons A or B are pressed.