Getting across spikes

Hi all!

I'm new to Pulp and new to the forum, but excited to be here!

I've found @SquidGodDev 's video tutorial to be an awesome starting point.

One thing I think I got working, but I'm curious if folks would recommend a better way, is how to time "spikes" such that if the player needs to move across a field of alternating spikes, that it's possible to do so without damage.

For example:

I used this kind of event loop as suggested in @SquidGodDev 's video:

on loop do
	fElapsed = event.frame
	fElapsed /= spikeInterval
	fElapsedFloor = floor fElapsed
	if fElapsed==fElapsedFloor then
		emit "spikeUpdate"
	end

However, when I naively lay out spikes next to each other like that, it seems impossible for the player to get across without hitting a spike or two, because there's no point in time the player can be standing on SpikesDown and move to the next set of SpikesDown – because the spikes they're standing on come up at the exact same time the next row of spikes goes down.

So I figured I needed to insert some kind of delay of having the spikes come back up, so that there's a slight gap when all the spikes are down.

I did so by modifying the SpikesDown update as follows:

on spikeUpdate do
	wait 0.2 then
		call "spikesGoUp"
	end
end

on spikesGoUp do
	swap "Spikes"

if event.x==event.px then
		if event.y==event.py then
			damage = spikeDamage
			tell event.player to
				call "damagePlayer"
			end
		end
	end
end

This gives a 0.2 second delay when the player can jump between rows while everything is down. It's still tricky, but seems like it works.

I'm new to all this so curious if anyone would have an alternate suggestion of how to do this.

Thanks all!
Josh

PS... here's my current go at all this:
Penguin Pulp.json.zip (4.9 KB)
(is this the right way to share on here? export the JSON, and zip it up?)

Hmmm..... I ran into a problem with my solution.