Pongdate - two-player Pong built with the SDK

I was really impressed with @Drew-Lo's implementation of Pong using Pulp.

It works really well and you'd never know there was a tile-based engine underneath it all.

Now that the SDK is out though, I figured I'd try my hand at Pong using the SDK.

I'm an experienced developer, but very new to game development. So I'm going to use this as a learning experience in learning the Playdate SDK, basic game development fundamentals, graphics, etc.

This thread will follow my progress in case it's helpful to others learning Playdate SDK development.

Start with the Examples

Distributed with the SDK, there's a ton of great examples.
It's totally worth checking them all out. Many of them have inspired me, given me ideas, and generally taught me some basic concepts for developing games.

And for this particular project, I used code from the AccelerometerTest as well as the Single File Example balls.lua

Both are similar, and gave me some basic structure for a ball bouncing around..

A bouncing ball

The first thing I got working was a bouncing ball, implemented as a sprite.
bouncing ball

Since everything is a sprite, my playdate.update() loop is just:

function playdate.update()                                                      
  gfx.sprite.update()                                                           
end                                                                             

The ball sprite has some basic logic on draw, to make it flash filled when it collides with something:

ballSprite.draw = function()
  gfx.setColor(gfx.kColorBlack)

if ballSprite.collided then
    gfx.fillCircleAtPoint(radius, radius, radius)
    ballSprite.collided = false
  else
    gfx.drawCircleAtPoint(radius, radius, radius)
  end
end

I then use a update function on the sprite, to have the logic of how the ball moves.