Pushblox Devlog

Hey there! This is my first time writing a devlog. Hope you enjoy!

About the game

The game I'm working on is a puzzle game with a built-in level editor. I'm mostly done with the game itself and currently just working on making puzzles for it.

Here's one of the puzzles I made in it:

gif1

And here's what the level editor looks like:

gif2

It's a block-pushing puzzle game with a variety of blocks and some floor tiles too. The goal is to get all the star blocks onto all the star tiles.

My goal for the game, once it's released, is to have a form available for people to send in levels they create and make those available in official 'Community Pack' updates. (I have the form made already so I'll link it on the store page once that's up)

Development

(Note: all references to performance are based on how it runs on device not simulator)

I have a bad habit of putting off menus and UI longer than I should so for this project that's where I started. Using Lua made menus easy because of the gridview library and the only thing that took more time was setting up all the file I/O since I'm allowing players to create, delete, rename, etc. the level files.

With all the menus done, I moved on to the editor. I set up a simple table format for storing level data and leveraged the gridview again so this also went by pretty quick.

The first real challenge with this game's development came when I started working on the actual logic. At this point, I had a list of all the blocks and tile types that I wanted to include. The logic actually would have been a lot simpler if it wasn't for three things... Push Tiles, Slide Blocks, and Mimic Blocks...

All of these allow for blocks to move without direct player influence:

gif3