Shang Lun's ProgLog

Hi, I'm Shang Lun / Harry, director of PlayReactive. We're based in Narrm / Melbourne, which is currently in lockdown. I'll be experimenting and exploring solo during this time.

Received Playdate unit in the mail today. I don't know anything about Lua, and I'm not a good programmer, but that hasn't stopped me in the past! For now I won't be working towards one particular game, but rather figuring things out as I go with a collection of prototypes. My focus is less on pushing the boundaries of the tech and more on "what cool things can I make without much coding prowess".

So here's my Progress Log, to help document my learning as well as motivate me and keep me accountable. Hopefully it's helpful to other people in a similar position of feeling totally out of their depth but glad to have jumped in, and also as a form of approachability feedback to the Playdate team. This will probably be laughably basic to most of you, but I appreciate any encouragement and support.

Day 1

First impressions. Opened box. Unit is small and cute, gorgeous design. Didn't turn on immediately, contrary to tiny booklet. Plugged into computer and immediately worked. Is Crayons an art collective? No, it's an example drawing software. Reinforces that A is [action/select] and B is [undo/cancel]. How do I change the paint roller, the 1, the name? Can't quit - oh, the menu button lets me go back to launcher. Satisfying sound effects. Where do my screenshots go? Screen is crisp, definitely best in sunlight. Crank and accelerometer interest me most in input test. Would have liked a mic level indicator. Having way too much fun on this screen. Connect to wifi easily, keyboard for password is great. No problems connecting Account, super smooth process. I note that when I visit Settings now, it's unresponsive for a second while it fetches my Account information, surprised by this approach. Digital clock looks great, but it's 2 hours off. Upside Down mode heck yeah!