Sphere & misc - Small sketches for the Playdate

Hello everyone.

I'm currently discovering the PlayDate, its capabilities, its SDK and a long lost love for 1-bit B&W graphics that have been there since I started programming on certain handheld monochrome devices. It sure is interesting to get a higher density and resolution screen this time.

Sphere

Among the small projects that I keep around to give a test on a platform and/or to see how it'd look on it, there is a small "sketch" I did years ago in Pico-8: Sphere.

playdate-20220321-224038

That's basically not much more than an animation playing in realtime, but it was a fun experiment in going back to C and squeeze the most out of the small little device and its tiny CPU. Under the engine, it's containing a good chunk of a viable 3D renderer written from scratch for absolutely no reason other than wanting to reinvent to wheel.

I think the hardest part was getting the projection matrix correct and remembering that an OpenGL-ish rendering system expects the Z coordinate (the one facing the camera) to be negative for a vertex to fall into the frustum. A mistake I also did in the original sketch!

If you're interested, the sketch is open source, so you can pry it up, tweak it and run your own version of it. I left some comments to give insights on the code and how it could be improved. For reference, I built it against the SDK v1.9.1.

I don't know if I'll continue working on this small project, it was mostly a warm up, I'll see in the near future if I can port or redo some older projects. I'm sorry, it's not really a game or anything interactive, I didn't find a more suitable forum category, there won't be many projects like those, or at least I'll gather them to avoid polluting the forum.

I'm attaching two zip files, one containing the binary/folder to run on the physical device, one for the simulator. Have a nice day!

sphere.simulator.pdx.zip (12.1 KB)
sphere.device.pdx.zip (11.0 KB)

Tunnel / Barrel