Development Story of Dungeons and Doggos

So I'm releasing Dungeons and Doggos tomorrow and I wanted to document my experience creating the game to capture my thoughts and feelings about the development before it comes out. The good, the bad and the ugly. If you're interested in reading about it, then have a fun read!

First off:

What is Dungeons and Doggos?

Dungeons and Doggos is an endless platforming game for the Playdate (no duh). There is a story mode with comic styled cutscenes in which you have to reach a goal height to progress, as well as two unlockable bonus modes focussing on getting high scores in harsher conditions than the story mode puts you under. There is also a meta game hidden in there about collecting hats to experience the “TRUTH”. If you want to see everything the game has to offer, it’ll take you about 1.5 to 2 hours.

Why even make a game for Playdate?

So, a little backstory. I’ve been working as a programmer for about 10 years now. But my passion for coding came from way before that. I originally learned how to program when I was about 8 years old. Having grown up with a Game Boy in my hands ever since I can remember, I wanted to create my own games. So being the nerdy kid that loves to read, I went to the library and got myself a book about programming batch files for windows. With the knowledge from that book, I started coding little text adventure games, which got more complex as the years went on. Flash forward to my teenage years, and I’ve tried out every game creation tool there is. GameMaker, Scratch, Unity, Unreal… I got my hands on every tool I could possibly make games with, joining Game Jam after Game Jam and trying to improve my game dev skills.