Farming RPG devlog

Welcome! This is the devlog for a farming rpg I started developing in june.
My vision is to create a game that is similar to the old harvest moon games, something relaxing to get away from the stress of everyday life. :yellow_heart:

Opinions, criticism and ideas are always welcome!
I'm a solo developer that only recently got a playdate. I have some experience making games in unity and godot, but this is my first attempt at making a game for the playdate.

5 Likes

New UI and time progression mechanic

Took some time to work on the UI this weekend, the placeholders were really starting to bother me.

Tools can now only be switched by turning the crank forward. This way, it is possible to select a tool and then turn the crank backwards to dock it. Before, stowing the crank inevitably meant that the tools would be changed while turning it back to the default position. The reason this can be annoying is that the UI is hidden when the crank is docked, so it doesn't get in the way while exploring or working on the farm. This means that it wasn't possible to hide the UI and still keep the tool you were trying to use.
I quite like how it turned out and it is much more convenient than the simple icons I used before

I also changed the way time advances in the game. I started out just using a very simple timer and displaying the date and time as a string.
However, the thing that bothered me most about most farming games I played is that I would either get stressed out because wasn't enough time in the day to get everything done, or there wasn't enough to do so that the game quickly got boring.

Since I want this to be a relaxing game, I decided to try something new. Time will pass normally during the day, until about 7 pm. At this point, the clock will stop and the player can end the day whenever they like. :sleeping_bed: