Has anyone posted a good tutorial for tilemaps?

Hey, I've been messing around the playdate SDK (programming in Lua), and I love the concept of tilemaps, but I have no clue how to use them. I've been searching around the internet, and I haven't been able to find any good tutorials, so I thought I would post here. Has anyone made or seen any good tilemap tutorials for the playdate SDK? Thanks!

4 Likes

I would love a tilemap tutorial too!

Before the Playdate SDK was released I started learning Love2D Lua. There is a great library called Simple Tiled Implementation (STI) that makes loading tilemaps very easy. It would be great if something like this was created for Playdate.

I've tried reading the level loader code in the 'Level 1-1' example, but I'm struggling to understand/adapt it.

I would recommend tiled documentation here as good place to start: Tiled Documentation β€” Tiled 1.10.2 documentation

First you need the image that will serve as the spritesheet

It must be named somethinganything-table-[ x ]-[ y ].theextension
[ x ] = the width of a TILE in pixels
[ y ] = the height of a TILE in pixels
ie: sprites-table-16-16.gif

local spritesheet = nil -- this will be the image table
local map = nil -- this is the tile map

function init() -- needs to be called before update
    spritesheet = gfx.imagetable.new("images/sprites") -- this will automatically load sprites-table-16-16.gif if it exists, so try not to reuse the part before -table in multiple images or you'll have to specify the entire filename
    map = gfx.tilemap.new()
    map:setImageTable(spritesheet)
    map:setSize(width of the map in TILES, height of the map in TILES)
end

function playdate.update()
	gfx.sprite.update() -- whatever drawing code you have first
	map:draw(x you want it to draw, y you want it to draw) -- ie: map:draw(0,0)
end 

you can use: (x and y start at 1 like all lua arrays)
map:getTileAtPosition(x,y) -- will return nil if there is no tile, otherwise the tile INDEX NUMBER