How do I get music tracks playing sequentially?

Hello! Very new here, but I spent hours searching and trying to find a solution, hopefully it is simple! I'm primarily a producer and just now getting into dev, got the SDK running on my Mac environment well enough, and have already successfully compiled several small games with minor changes to them, and very simplistic POC's.

I'm trying to get audio tracks to play sequentially just so I can understand better, but I cannot get it to work. Here's what I've tried:

boing = pd.sound.fileplayer.new('music/audio')
boing2 = pd.sound.fileplayer.new('music/sandsea')
boing:setVolume(0.2, 1)
boing2:setVolume(0.2, 1)
boing:setStopOnUnderrun(false)
boing2:setStopOnUnderrun(false)
boing:play(2)
if boing:isPlaying() == false then
	boing2:play()
end

I'm also trying this but I'm unsure what steps I would need to check when the song is finished to start playing the next one:

player = playdate.sound.fileplayer.new()
function setup()
  player:load('music/audio')
  player:play(3);
end

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

1 Like

Once you :play the file (which you would do once, not every frame) you need to check :isPlaying in your playdate.update() loop (which runs every frame).

Or:

In my game, I'm doing the same thing without checking :isPlaying in the update() loop, by setting a timer, something like this...

Do this at the start—not every frame:

local pd <const> = playdate

songs = {
	pd.sound.fileplayer.new("music/song1"),
	pd.sound.fileplayer.new("music/song2"
}
currentSong = 1
playNextSong()

And have a function like this:

function playNextSong()
	songs[currentSong]:play(1)

if songTimer ~= nil then 
		songTimer:remove() --Prevent needless multiple timers
	end

songTimer = pd.timer.new(1000 * songs[currentSong]:getLength(), playNextSong) --Milliseconds

currentSong = 3 - currentSong --Alternate 1 and 2
end