How do you go about "Inertia movement" and rotating sprites in Lua?

Hi everyone,

I'm an artist and just started to learn how to develop in Lua for the Playmate. I am building my first game where you control a spaceship and I'm wondering how do you go about "inertia movement" in Lua? As I been trying to research and cannot find anything, also I'm trying to rotate my sprite but I keep crashing on button press.

Thank youuu in advance

In short, for inertia movement (momentum) you adjust delta values, let's call them dx and dy, rather than x and y directly. If you do this using small fractional values it should become clear very quickly how this works.

For rotation the best approach is to pre-rotate your sprites and store them as an image table, then you can select which one to display at any moment based on your current angle.

Ahh I see :slight_smile: I will try and see, makes sense.

Thanks a lot Matt

1 Like

Keep asking questions, it's good

Will do and will definitely have more :slight_smile:

Can you explain a bit more about the delta values? I'm working on a top-down racing game, and I want the player to drift a little as they turn. Here's what I have for the current movement:

if pd.buttonIsPressed(pd.kButtonUp) then
    local angle = math.rad(crankAngle - 90)
    local moveToX = self.x+ math.cos(angle) * self.speed
    local moveToY = self.y + math.sin(angle) * self.speed
    if moveToX > 0 and moveToX < 400 and moveToY > 0 and moveToY < 240 then
      self:moveWithCollisions(moveToX, moveToY)
    end
  end

I'm a designer/front-end dev, and completely new to game development. Are there any good resources around these concepts? I'm not having much luck with my searches other than SquidGodDev's amazing YT channel.

You can add inertia by varying the value of self.speed when the player is pressing/not pressing up. Something like:

if pd.buttonIsPressed(pd.kButtonUp) then
    self.speed = math.min(self.speed + self.acceleration, self.maximumSpeed)
else