In Development: Shape Match (early Prototype)

Hi all.

This is my first time posting here, with a very simple game I started to build over the holidays.
I'm ashamed to admit how much time it took to even get to the current state, which is only a very early prototype.

But hey, the credo is release early, releas often, right? Maybe I'll even get faster along the way…

So without further ado, here's a screen-capture:

Alpha-Gameplay

The goal is to redraw a shape that gets shown to you for a few seconds and try to match it as closely as possible. With the DPad you select the desired direction (indicated on the bottom left of the screen) and with the crank you draw a line in the selected direction.

Here's a link to a playable build, feedback is highly welcome.

Next steps should be:

• Start-Screen
  • Level-Selection
  • Tutorial
9 Likes

this looks fun! i'm getting my playdate in febuary, can't wait to try this out!

1 Like

Very cool!

I'm wondering what can be added to make the gameplay deeper.

1 Like

You're right, it's a bit dull at is it now. I was thinking about different possible challenges or achievements, such as:

• reaching at least a certain percentage
  • time-limit
  • complete the level without stopping
  • inertia/friction

Maybe it needs some sort of build-up/progression of gameplay instead of just increasingly complex shapes… I'm open to ideas :sweat_smile:

I get vibes of Qix/Volfied. Which is great!

I'm yet to try your demo. Some thoughts:

Puzzle mode

• don't show the shape
  • you have to discover it
  • limited ink or directional changes

Maybe

• QTE mode that automatically moves and you press the chosen direction so only relies on timing? Might feel more like light cycles.

How are you calculating the similarity percentage?

Some good suggestions, thanks @matt !