Loading maps from the Tiled editor

I'm liking Tiled as an editor. Is there a lua library for loading maps made with Tiled? I like that it can export directly to lua.

From reading the Playdate docs, it seems that Tilemaps could be used to load the tiles, map, and even to render it.

Perhaps there's someone working on this already?

Right, I haven't programmed games in ages. I forgot.

Turns out you can use Tilemaps and ImageTables: they are quite nice indeed.

Tilemaps are great for straight maps (orthogonal). They don't support isometric maps, because you can't offset rows the way you need to for an isometric perspective.

I'll be working (slowly) on finishing a Tiled map loader in Lua. It would be interesting to see when it can load infinite maps and scroll.

Do you use any other editors like Tiled?
Any other suggestions?

2 Likes

I would LOVE a Tiled map loader! It's a blocker for me at the moment.

Before the Playdate SDK was released I started learning Lua using Love2D. There is a great library called Simple Tiled Implementation (STI) . It would be awesome to have something like that for Playdate.

1 Like

Cool! I've started on it, it's definitely fun!

@polyphonicboy What sort of game are you making? I'd love to collaborate on this. I've started doing isometric maps, but I can switch it needed. Let me know, it will be much more productive to work on real example maps.

Ideally, it would support all the features from Tiled, you would point it to a lua export and that would be it.

2 Likes

I'm working on a little platformer, so would be simple orthogonal maps.

I'm very much a novice programmer, but I would love to help as much as I can. I've made a test map in Tiled with 3 layers (sprites, walls, background).

Here's how the game is looking just now. Currently the background is one image, and I've manually positioned a few block sprites. The elevator is controlled with the crank.

playdate

2 Likes