Request for general architecture guidance/advice

Hey,

I'm new to Lua (despite naming my dog Lua eight years ago…) and game development — full-time iOS developer in the day time. But I'm super excited for my Playdate and really wanting to build a small game for it!

I'm just out here asking for some general tips on how to structure my game. It's going to be a fairly straight forward main menu into a game view that loads a level of some sort, upon completion the level be loaded, and then a game over screen.

But I feel stuck, not knowing at all where to even begin! :sweat_smile:

Any tips greatly appreciated. Until then I guess I'll just flail around with the SDK and see what comes out haha.

So check out SDK/Examples!

But your scenario could be as simple is an if statement in your update loop to manage the different states.

That's what I did in

Begin with the example in the docs https://sdk.play.date/inside-playdate/#basic-playdate-game

Thanks! I have had a lot of looks inside the Examples directory, but hadn't seen the example in the docs. I'll check it out.

Something we set up for our last prototype was a basic event system using the Signal library here: A list of helpful libraries and code - #3 by dustin

Then our start screen could broadcast an event that our main process could listen for to change between start screen, game screen, pause screen, etc.

Not sure if it's a good idea yet, but it seemed to reduce the coupling between our classes quite a bit!

1 Like

Thank you! Very interesting to read more "advanced" Lua if nothing else. :smiley:

not in lua but in c, but this might still be helpful to give you an idea of ways you can go about architecting your games: GitHub - pondodev/playdate-invaders: just me fiddling around with the playdate yaknow how it is