Sprite Objects Still Displayed after a New One with the Same Name Is Made

Hi, I'm a beginner making a simple chess game on windows using the sdk, and am currently trying to implement a preview of where a piece could move. When a player clicks the A button, I have a class that makes a sprite for a dot which is then displayed where specified. The issue is that if the player changes their mind and decides they want to move a different piece instead and presses A on that piece, an instance/object is created with the same name and displayed, but the old one sticks around.

The simplest solution I've found is just to do :remove() on the dot right before the class's function is called to make it, which removes any preview dots that are being shown, but if none have been displayed yet(the first move of the game), dot1, for example, doesn't exist, and I just get an error that the value is nil, etc.

What would be the best course of action in this situation? Should I just set an image to all of the dots I might need ahead of time, even if this would kind of reduce the point of making a class at all?

Below is a selection of the code that I'm referring to, but here's the source code if needed.

Thanks!

local function init()
selDotImage = gfx.image.new("images/selDot")
	class('selDots').extends(gfx.sprite)

function selDots:init(relPosX, relPosY)
		self:setImage(selDotImage)
	    self:setZIndex(1)
	    self:setCenter(0.0, 1.0)
	    self:moveTo(selectorSprite.x + relPosX, selectorSprite.y + relPosY)
	    self.relPos = relPosX .. " " .. relPosY
	end
end

function playdate.AButtonDown()
	local selectorPos = selectorSprite.x .. " " .. selectorSprite.y
	if wPawnA.pos == selectorPos then
		dot1 = selDots(0, -50)
		dot1:add()
		dot2 = selDots(0, -100)
		dot2:add()
	elseif wPawnB.pos == selectorPos then
		dot1 = selDots(0, -50)
		dot1:add()
		dot2 = selDots(0, -100)
		dot2:add()
	end
end

Set dots to nil at game initialisation and then only remove() if it's not nil?