Trouble including C library

So I've wasted a week trying to get this to work and figure it's time to ask for help. I'm a C neophyte so this is my first time using things like make and Makefile, which at the moment is mostly voodoo to me.
I'm trying to build and include a C library, but no matter what I try I get this error:

arm-none-eabi-gcc: error: libchipmunk: No such file or directory

Here are my steps:

# List the user directory to look for the libraries here
ULIBDIR = chipmunk/src

# List all user libraries here
ULIBS = libchipmunk
  • In src/main.c I add: #include "chipmunk.h" to test that everything is linked correctly after the build
  • I then run make from the project root, and I get the error at the top of the thread.
  • I have also tried other variations like ULIBS = chipmunk/src/libchipmunk since I noticed the SRC variable needs the full relative path, but that didn't fix it.

It feels like ULIBDIR and ULIBS are the two variables I should be updating to get make to link the library, but I have not seen any example playdate project Makefiles where someone is including a library so I'm not sure.

Try

ULIBS = -lchipmunk

or

ULIBS = chipmunk/src/libchipmunk.a

(untested, just from a quick look into PlaydateSDK/C_API/buildsupport/common.mk where these variables are used.)

If you need libchipmunk.a, feel free to use mine: wheelsprung/lib/macos at main · ninovanhooff/wheelsprung · GitHub

Since I use Nim, I'm unsure how much of the remainder of my project is relevant to you

Note: there is an issue with the windows version*, but the Mac one I linked to above should work

• the windows version does not include all dependencies and apparently requires a MingW toolchain to be installed for the simulator to find the required dll.

I never thought I would miss python so much.

@CWalther the following change allowed me take one step forwards, thanks for the suggestion:

ULIBS = -lchipmunk