Unable to build, "Error couldn't create folder"

Howdy, I'm on windows 10, I installed the SDK, added the SDK to PATH but I am unable to build.

The error I get back is "error: Couldn't create folder at D:\Game_dev\Playdate_projects\Attempts\Project_2\build\Project_2.pdx"

The command I run is as follows "pdc D:\Game_dev\Playdate_projects\Attempts\Project_2\source D:\Game_dev\Playdate_projects\Attempts\Project_2\build\Project_2"

I am running CMD or Powershell as administrator and the drive D:\ has full access permissions (as Administrator).

I also attempted to use a template made by a community member to build through VS Code GitHub - Whitebrim/VSCode-PlaydateTemplate: This template will help you with autocompletion and running your code in simulator. Windows & Linux. but I assume it hits the same snag.

I assume I am missing something, and its my first time trying to build anything on windows. Please let me know if I am missing something obvious or if you need any more information.

Edit: SDK is version 1.10.0

Could you try building off your C drive and see if that makes a difference?

I copied the SDK and project files to the C drive, attempted to build and got the same error. I also changed the PATH to the SDK on the c drive and got the same error. Did a full restart after changing PATH same error.

Can you build the examples?

It gives me an entirely different error when trying to build example 2020, "error: C:\Users\Penguin\gamedev\PlaydateSDK\Examples\2020\Source\main.lua:3: No such file: CoreLibs/sprites"

I see the sprites file, and when i tried to build example FlippyFish, it could not find the graphic library which I can also see.

Edit: I did a fresh install of the SDK to C:\program files. PDC cannot see the example's Main.lua file while they are in Program Files, but if moved into Users I get the same error where it cannot find CoreLibs/Sprites when attempting to build 2020.