What's the best way to make curved collision walls?

Hi everyone, I'm new here and mostly self-taught, so apologies in advance. I'm making a top-down racing game and I want to have curved corners you can slide along. What's the best way to do this? As I understand it, you can't rotate collision rectangles or I would use a series of them to make a curve. Any and all help would be appreciated. Thanks everyone!

I could be wrong but you can use collisions for this:

teddy:setCollideRect( 0, 0, teddy:getSize() )
if teddy:alphaCollision(another_object) then
end

I know it works for straight lines, but I think (though I'm not sure) that it works if the black pixels hit each other. Could be wrong about that though!

The flippy fish example game that comes with the playdate SDK has a working example of a fish and some seaweed that collides.

Maybe someone who knows more about collisions than me can shed some light!

The curved corner can be represented by a circle, or arc (which is just a circle but only registered if the collision is between the two angles of the arc), and rectangle to circle collisions are fairly easy.

If you approximate the shape of your car to also be a circle then you get really easy circle to circle collisions, angle of reflection, and so on. This (plus a bunch more smoke and mirrors) is what I do in Daily Driver.

You can do nearly any collision shape using Signed Distance Functions. Its a pretty neat concept and if you're not afraid of the math involved I'd give it a look. For curves I'd approximate the car shape with an oval and a curve by an inverted circle.

4 Likes

Thanks so much for the help everyone!

These are super cool.

Would be cool to have a Playdate compatible lua library of these.