Accepting precise input timings for a rhythm game

Hi! I'm new to game development and am trying to prototype a simple falling-note rhythm game for the playdate. I don't have a device yet and am testing using the emulator (1.9.0) on macOS 12.2.1 (Monterey).

An issue I'm running into is detecting input timings with ~ms precision. I'd like to have that level of input precision so I can set some strict timing windows, ideally allowing ~15-17ms of error for the tightest one. Unfortunately, all of my tests so far for capturing precise input timings seem to be limited by framerate:

• At the max fps of 50, playdate.update is called every 20ms, meaning detecting an input via playdate.buttonJustPressed within that callback can be off by up to that amount.
  • When I register a custom input handler or define the default callback methods like playdate.AButtonDown and record the time the callback is called relative to playdate.update using getCurrentTimeMilliseconds, the offset between the two is generally ~0-1ms. If I use getElapsedTime, the two values are identical. That suggests to me that the callbacks are run on the same loop as the update callback, but slightly before update itself is called. It also suggests to me that getElapsedTime is cached per loop, which is a bit surprising.
  • I looked briefly at the C API but haven't set up my dev environment to use it. It looks like it might be possible by listening for kEventKeyPressed events, but I'm hoping to avoid using C if possible.

My questions are:

• I'm not sure what the button input polling rate is; is it high enough that I can get reliable inputs at the ms level, or will I need to work around precision issues at that level too?