Animated dither patterns using phase offsets

Hey folks,

I've been getting my feet wet recently (on Mac) by exploring the sprite functionality. It's been great fun playing with the graphics APIs, and I've been surprised at how effective some of the dithering effects can be for creating simple graphics.

It would be slick if I could create some animated graphics by adjusting the phase offset when calling gfx.setDitherPattern before drawing in the same way you can when using dithering on images with gfx.image:drawBlurred. For instance, consider animating kDitherTypeDiagonalLine to create a conveyor belt effect.

Firstly, is there a way to do this that I'm missing? If not, is there a technical reason that such an approach would be inefficient or unwise? I realize I could achieve this using an imageTable animation loop, but I was hoping for a more lightweight approach. I almost posted this under feature requests, but that felt presumptuous since I'm new to the platform and don't really know my way around yet.

Thanks in advance for any tips!

Well, as usual, I should have played with this for a few more hours before posting. I think I've figured out the appropriate solution, but I'd welcome improvements. I wound up pushing a graphics context for a new image which I render the dither pattern into. I'm choosing a dither pattern based on the specified velocity, which impacts both pattern direction and the animation speed. Here's the setup:

self.beltImage = gfx.image.new(16, 16) -- twice the size of the 8x8 pattern we'll extract

gfx.pushContext(self.beltImage)
        gfx.setColor(gfx.kColorBlack)
        if self.velocity.x == 0 then
            gfx.setDitherPattern(0.5, gfx.image.kDitherTypeHorizontalLine)
        elseif self.velocity.y == 0 then
            gfx.setDitherPattern(0.5, gfx.image.kDitherTypeVerticalLine)
        else
            gfx.setDitherPattern(0.5, gfx.image.kDitherTypeDiagonalLine)
            self.diagonal = true
        end