Anyone interested in helping turn my dialogue drawing system into a library that anyone could use?

https://gfycat.com/pastkaleidoscopicbasenji

So I'm working on a system that can take a long string of essentially any length, then correctly display it in any rectangle's dimensions that you specify, as well as "animating" that text being written out.

I've got it basically working (see gif above), but there are still some weird edge-cases I'm having trouble fixing.

I also know that other people have expressed interest in having a system like this in their game, so I would like turn this into a public portable library that could be imported into essentially any project.

The issue is I am a very novice programmer, so I'd need some help making the code a little more portable and less embedded with my game code, and I also don't know much about making/maintaining a public GitHub repo.

I'll attach my current project in it's entirety which you should be able to build and run in the simulator or on device to see what I have so far. It's a Noble Engine project, so the scene structure may seem odd if you aren't familiar with that already.

Feel free to ask any questions here. Thanks!
HatTrick_Deluxe-EarlyAlpha.zip (3.4 MB)

6 Likes

What's the wish-list?

I'm kind-of halfway through a C-API text box. I want to have up/down scrolling when the text is too big for the box. I also want different text justifications - left, centre & full. (I guess I'd do right-just too, for those that need it).

1 Like

My desired end-goal would be a library/function that the user can give;

• a string of arbitrary length
  • a rect that will contain the text (so proper newlines and paginating can be determined)
  • x,y for the top left corner of the rect
  • a font to use
  • what speed to reveal the text at
  • (bonus: also handle a nineslice background for the text to be drawn on)