CollisionResponse for sprites in subclasses / Best practice

I‘ve come across a situation / issue with collision handling, specifically with the function CollisionResponse() with my current class setup.
I'm kind of new to OOP in the way Playdate is recommending, I used to handle everything with tables in my previous ventures.

Say I have a class Machine that extends sprite, and in it I create a couple of sprites that make up the machine. I'm doing this so I can handle movement and collision of individual parts of the machine seperately (is this a valid approach?) One part of the machine, the hose, has a collider which should collide with other objects. Here is the example code:

class('Machine').extends(gfx.sprite)

function Machine:init()

Machine.super.init(self)

self.x = 100
    self.y = 100

--! Machine Body Sprite
    local machineBodyImage = gfx.image.new('example/machine-part1')
    self.machineBodySprite = gfx.sprite.new(machineBodyImage)
    self.machineBodySprite:moveTo(self.x,self.y)
    self.machineHoseSprite:setCollideRect( 0, 0, self.machineBodySprite:getSize() )
    self.machineBodySprite:add()

--! Machine Flexible Hose Sprite
    local machineHoseImage = gfx.image.new('example/example-head')
    self.machineHoseSprite = gfx.sprite.new(machineHoseImage)
    self.machineHoseSprite:moveTo(self.x+2,self.y+10)
    self.machineHoseSprite:setCollideRect( 0, 0, self.machineHoseSprite:getSize() )
    self.machineHoseSprite:add()

end

function Machine:update()
    --! MOVEMENT
    self.machineHoseSprite:moveWithCollisions(self.x+2,self.y+10)

--! COLLISIONS
    local collisions = self.machineHoseSprite:overlappingSprites()
    for i = 1, #collisions do
        local other = collisions[i]
        if (other:isa(Cargo)) then
            other:attach(self.machineHoseSprite)
        end
    end
end

function Machine:collisionResponse(other)
    if other:isa(Wall) then
            return 'freeze'
    elseif other:isa(Cargo) then
        return 'overlap'
    else