Spawning multiple sprites in for loop

Hello! I'm attempting to spawn several instances of a class that derives from Sprite and run some logic on all of them. Basically, I'm having them all spawn and run animation paths. The problem is, it only seems to spawn one instance of the object rather than all 6 that I'm attempting to instantiate.

function SpawnRow(enemiesInRow)
    local rowID = enemyRowsActive + 1

for i = 1, enemiesInRow, 1 do
        local newEnemy = Enemy(100, 0)
        newEnemy:buildRoute(100, 0, 300, 120, 20, i * 20, 40, 1000, pd.easingFunctions.linear, 200 * i)
    end
end

SpawnRow(6)

When I debug this it counts to 6, but doesn't spawn more than the first sprite object. The one that does spawn behaves exactly as I intend it to. I'm new to Lua so there may be something I just don't know about via behaviors of for loops or how Sprites work in the sdk.

Let me know if you have any ideas!
Kurt

1 Like

When I run your code with my own Enemy class, I see 6 sprites on screen, so the problem doesn't seem to be with the code you've shared. Would you mind sharing your Enemy class?

Interesting! Thanks for looking into it for me. Here's the enemy code

local pd <const> = playdate
local gfx <const> = pd.graphics

local speed = 10

class('Enemy').extends(gfx.sprite)

local parts = {}

local animator = nil

function Enemy:init(x,y)
    local image = gfx.image.new("images/enemy")
    self:setImage(image)
    self:moveTo(x,y)
    self:add()
end

function Enemy:update()
    if animator then
        self:moveTo(animator:currentValue())
    end
end

function Enemy:buildRoute(startX, startY, bottomX, bottomY, endX, endY, arcRadius, duration, easing, delay)
    parts[1] = pd.geometry.lineSegment.new(startX, startY, bottomX, bottomY)
    parts[2] = pd.geometry.arc.new(bottomX, bottomY + arcRadius, arcRadius, 0, 360)
    parts[3] = pd.geometry.lineSegment.new(bottomX,bottomY,endX,endY)