Basic Image Transformations

I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction on this. I just started learning Lua and I can't seem to figure this out even though I think it should be obvious. Can someone give me a very simple example of how to change an existing sprite's image? I understand how to assign the image like this:

-- I understand how to set up the image and assign it in my game's source file
-- gfx is the shortened version of playdate.graphics
 local playerImage = gfx.image.new("Images/playerImage")
 assert( playerImage )

-- This assigns the playerImage local variable to playerSprite
 playerSprite = gfx.sprite.new( playerImage )

-- This moves the playerSprite to the middle of the Playdate screen
 playerSprite:moveTo( 200, 130 )

-- This adds the playerSprite to the world
 playerSprite:add()

What I can't seem to figure out is how to easily change playerSprite, meaning the image for playerSprite starts as one thing and changes to something else. I have been looking here: Inside Playdate and in my Lua book and there isn't an example. The SDK guide is not really helpful because I am not seeing real code getting used, it has been hit and miss for me. The examples that come with the Playdate Simulator don't have basic image transformations, I just need something simple. How do I change playerSprite from playerImage in the images folder to something else? I have been at this for about two weeks and have made a lot of progress but I am struggling with images. I have some programming experience but I don't do it for a living so assume I am an idiot in your response. Any help is appreciated.

I am not sure what you want to do but I assume that you want to animate a sprite.

The usual way to do it is to create an image table. It is a file containing the frames of your animation:
sprite-chest-table-32-32

Its name must end by table-width-height. For example, this one is named chest-table-32-32.png.

You can load it by calling: