How do I destroy an object?

I'm new to Lua and Playdate dev, so please excuse my ignorance. I'm trying to make an Arkanoid clone and I'm having trouble determining when to destroy a brick. I have the colliders all set up and the ball bounces off the brick just fine but I have no idea how to make the brick "go away". Currently I have the following which isn't working at all - specifically it seems like the collisions aren't registering at the position I gave (the center of the brick):

if (brick ~= nil) then
		local _, _, _, length = brick:checkCollisions(brick.transform.x, brick.transform.y)

if (length > 0) then
			brick = nil
			print("removed brick")
		end
	end

Objects in Lua are destroyed by the garbage collector once there are no more references to them in scope. So all you have to do is set any variable or table entry referring to the object to nil, or (assuming it's not a global and there are no other references) just wait for the scope the object was declared in to exit.

In the case of sprites, the system keeps a reference to each sprite that's been add()ed to the display list. So make sure that you call brick:remove() before setting brick = nil and it will get cleaned up the next time garbage collection runs. The GC frequency is determined by the runtime, but you can control it somewhat.

That all makes sense but I think I still have something wrong.

Here's my brick.lua file:

import "CoreLibs/sprites"
import "CoreLibs/graphics"

local gfx <const> = playdate.graphics

class("brick").extends(gfx.sprite)

function brick:init(x, y)
    self.transform = {
        x = x,
        y = y,
        width = 40,
        height = 16
    }

self:moveTo(self.transform.x, self.transform.y)
    self:setImage(gfx.image.new("images/brick-1"))
    self:setCollideRect(0, 0, self:getSize())
    self:setTag(1) -- bricks tag
    self:add()
end

and then my main.lua file:

import "ball"
import "paddle"
import "brick"

local ball = ball()
local paddle = paddle()