How do I get Accelerometer x,y,z values? Compiler says it's a single number

I'm clearly missing something about how the API works.

When I use print(playdate.readAccelerometer()), the console shows all three values, x, y and x, as a string with tabs between each (using some internal toString() function? I'm new to lua).

But when I assign playdate.readAccelerometer() to a new variable and print that, it only returns the x value.

readAccelerometer

I only even checked this because every time I try to get playdate.readAccelerometer().x the game crashes and complains that readAccelerometer() is a number, not a table.

What am I missing? The Accelerometer values are some kind of a table/array-esque thing... until I check its values, when it becomes simply a number equal to the x value.

Is there some Lua syntax I'm unfamiliar with here? The PlayDate docs refer to this as a "touple" which according to the Internet is a thing that doesn't exist in Lua but I assumed was just a concept? I'm lost and could use a 101 lesson on this.

Thanks!

1 Like

Have you tried:

{x,y,z} = playdate.readAccelerometer()

Untested

There's also an accelerometer example in the Single File Examples folder.

1 Like

Ha, yes! I literally just tried something similar:

local tiltX, tiltY, tiltZ = playdate.readAccelerometer()

And it worked. This syntax makes absolutely no sense to me but here we are!

Thanks for the reminder about the existence of examples, too! I'm working on Windows (running the emulator in VMWare, shhh!), so I missed them because they're all in the macOS SDK folder.

2 Likes

It's a Lua thing! You'll grow to love it.

If the method returns multiple parts (tuple) then you can assign them all at once. Have a read of (some of) the Lua manual.

1 Like

My problem is a lack of familiarity with the terminology, which I wasn't expecting. I spent literally an hour pouring though Lua documentation about this before posting here, but I just didn't know what to look for.