Playdate.graphics.animation.loop can they be started paused?

Hello, I'm a playdate newbie. I'm trying to create a simple three-frame explosion for a Bosconian clone (gotta start somewhere), using playdate.graphics.animation.loop

Initially, I was trying to start them paused, so I'd only animate them onscreen as required. However, it seems the timer is running from loop creation, resulting in an oddly looping animation. It's odd because the loop was created with loop = false as well, and the length of the repeated animation is obviously dependent on when the game started.

For example this code (where you can see me trying to manage the paused state):

import 'Corelibs/animation'
local gfx = playdate.graphics

Explosion = {}
Explosion.__index = Explosion

function Explosion.new()
local imgTable, err = gfx.imagetable.new("images/explosion-table-15-15.png")
assert(imgTable, err)

local self = gfx.animation.loop.new(120, imgTable, false)
self.paused = true
self.x = -100   -- Start offscreen
self.y = -100

function self:update()
    if self:isValid() then
        self:draw(self.x - 7, self.y - 7)
    else
        self.isPaused = true
    end
end

function self:explode(x, y)
    self.x = x
    self.y = y
    self.frame = 1
    self.paused = false
end

return self

end

Results in this animation. The first time 'explosion' is used, the animation loops, subsequent times it appears to play the three-frame loop without issue:

playdate-20240308-204706

Two questions:

1. Does it even matter? Can I have a handful of these explosion animation loops that I can re-use? If I start them off-screen their first animation loop can run through, and subsequent times setting frame = 1 seems to work fine when they appear onscreen. Do I even need to care about trying to pause animations when not in use?

2. Is this generally how people use animation.loop for non-looping animation? Create them, leave them offscreen or undrawn but leave the timers running? Much processor cost to doing this?